Holy Gospel of Jesus Christ according to Saint Matthew 11:2-11.

When John the Baptist heard in prison of the works of the Christ, he sent his disciples to Jesus
with this question, “Are you the one who is to come, or should we look for another?”
Jesus said to them in reply, “Go and tell John what you hear and see:
the blind regain their sight, the lame walk, lepers are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the poor have the good news proclaimed to them.
And blessed is the one who takes no offense at me.”
As they were going off, Jesus began to speak to the crowds about John, “What did you go out to the desert to see? A reed swayed by the wind?
Then what did you go out to see? Someone dressed in fine clothing? Those who wear fine clothing are in royal palaces.
Then why did you go out? To see a prophet? Yes, I tell you, and more than a prophet.
This is the one about whom it is written: ‘Behold, I am sending my messenger ahead of you; he will prepare your way before you.’
Amen, I say to you, among those born of women there has been none greater than John the Baptist; yet the least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he.

Copyright © Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, USCCB

Commentary of the day :

Saint Gertrude of Helfta (1256-1301), Benedictine nun
The Exercises, no.3 ; SC 127 (trans. ©Cistercian publications Inc., 1989)

« Be strong! Fear not! Here is your God…: he comes to save you » (Is 35,4)

The voice of the soul offering itself to God: “I am an orphan without a mother, needy and poor. Except for Jesus, I have no consolation. Only he himself can quench my soul’s thirst. He himself is the one chosen above all and the only friend of my heart. He himself is “King of kings and Lord of lords” (Rv 19,16)… He has my body and soul in his hand. He himself may do with me whatever seems right to his loving-kindness. Oh, who will grant me to become a human being after his own heart so that he might have his desire in me equally with his best gracious purpose? This alone could gladden and console me.

“Ah Jesus, the one and only cherished of my heart…, cherished above all that has ever been cherished. For you, 0 flowering spring day filled with life, the amorous desire of my heart sighs and languishes. Oh, if only it happened to me to become more closely united with you to the end that then the flowers and fruit of my spiritual growth might sprout under you, the true sun. ‘Expectantly, I have waited, waited for you’ (Ps 40[39],2)… Ah friend, friend, friend, fulfill your desire and mine effectively.”

Christ’s voice: “I will espouse you in my Holy Spirit; I will draw you close in inseparable union with me. You will be my guest, and I will shut you up in my lively cherishing-love. I will make you a robe of the noble purple of my precious blood. I will crown you with the choice gold of my bitter death. I will fill up your desire with myself and thus I will bring gladness to you forever.”

@izebuno from WordPress for Android

About padredanivha

A Catholic priest
This entry was posted in Catechesis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

